The Thermals Announce New Album Desperate Ground Set for April 2013 Release

February 2nd, 2013
Goto comments Leave a comment

Post pop-punk outfit The Thermals will be releasing their forthcoming sixth full length release called Desperate Ground on April 16, 2013. This will be the debut on the Saddle Creek label for the Portland, OR act. Pre-orders for the record is available here.


Produced by John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr, Sonic Youth) in Hoboken, NJ, they completed the recording prior to Hurricane Sandy hitting the New Jersey area. The album is a return to their sound from their earlier years.

According to a press release by their label:

“Lyrically, Desperate Ground is a brash and irresponsible ode to human violence, a black celebration of the inevitability of war and death. A dark and yet joyous affair, Desperate Ground tells the (murky) tale of a lone rogue in the night. One man, one path, one sword. An unceasing urge to destroy. A never-ending battle against the forces of nature. A destiny impossible to avoid.”

Thermals logo

The track listing for Desperate Ground is as follows:

1. Born To Kill
2. You Will Be Free
3. The Sunset
4. I Go Alone
5. The Sword By My Side
6. You Will Find Me
7. Faces Stay With Me
8. The Howl Of The Winds
9. Where I Stand
10. Our Love Survives

The band will be doing a brief run of live dates. The confirmed dates are below.

March 01: Noise Pop (@ Rickshaw Stop) – San Francisco, CA
March 02: Homestead Lanes Bowling Alley – Cupertino, CA
March 07: 285 Kent – Brooklyn, NY
March 08: Beinekie Events Barn @ Hamilton College – Clinton, NY
March 09: Maxwell’s – Hoboken, NJ
March 13: Austin, TX @ SXSW
March 14: Austin, TX @ SXSW
March 15: Austin, TX @ SXSW
March 16: Austin, TX @ SXSW
March 18: Echoplex (Check Yo Ponytail) – Los Angeles, CA

Search for Saddle Creek albums on Amazon

By Rei Nishimoto Posted in News ,

Related The Thermals Content:

High Fidelity
The Thermals – Desperate Ground

The Thermals’ New Album Out September 7th
Brooklyn Vegan Free SXSW 2013 Party Day 3 Announced Featuring The Polyphonic Spree
CocoRosie sign to SubPop
March Into Softness SXSW 2013 Day Party Announced Featuring Frightened Rabbit
Consequence of Sound’s Cosigns II SXSW 2013 Day Party Announced Featuring Chelsea Light Moving
Dr. Martens SXSW 2013 Day Parties and Showcases Announced Featuring Wavves
The Thermals Announce New Album Desperate Ground Set for April 2013 Release
The Thermals Announce Second Single, 7″ from New LP
The Thermals Release New Single “I Don’t Believe You”

Red Bull Sound Select Presents: The Thermals, Gothic Tropic and Beach Party, Live at The Roxy

Related Saddle Creek Content:

Adam H. Stephens Announces Album Release & Tour