Anti-Records Announce Son of Rogues Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys Set for February 2013 Release Including Contributions from Tom Waits, Keith Richards, Patti Smith and More

January 8th, 2013
Goto comments Leave a comment

Record label Anti-Records is set to release Son of Rogues Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys, which will feature Johnny Depp as an executive producer.


The album, set for a February 19th release, is a follow up to Hal Willner’s 2006 Rogues Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys. It will include contributions from Tom Waits, Patti Smith, Keith Richards, and a host of other artists.  These compilations were inspired while Willner worked on the set of Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest along with actor Johnny Depp and director Gore Verbinski, both of whom are featured as executive producers.  The album’s first single is “Shenandoah.” View the track listing for the two-disc set below:
Track Listing
Disc 1:
01. Leaving of Liverpool (Shane MacGowan w/Johnny Depp & Gore Verbinski)
02. Sam’s Gone Away (Robyn Hitchcock)
03. River Come Down (Beth Orton)
04. Row Bullies Row (Sean Lennon w/Jack Shit)
05. Shenandoah (Tom Waits w/Keith Richards)
06. Mr. Stormalong (Ivan Neville)
07. Asshole Rules the Navy (Iggy Pop w/A Hawk and a Hacksaw)
08. Off to Sea Once More (Macy Gray)
09. The Ol’ OG (Ed Harcourt)
10. Pirate Jenny (Shilpa Ray w/Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
11. The Mermaid (Patti Smith & Johnny Depp)
12. Anthem for Old Souls (Chuck E. Weiss)
13. Orange Claw Hammer (Ed Pastorini)
14. Sweet and Low (The Americans)
15. Ye Mariners All (Robin Holcomb & Jessica Kenny)
16. Tom’s Gone to Hilo (Gavin Friday and Shannon McNally)
17. Bear Away (Kenny Wollesen & The Himalayas Marching Band)

Disc 2:
01. Handsome Cabin Boy (Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention)
02. Rio Grande (Michael Stipe & Courtney Love)
03. Ship in Distress (Marc Almond)
04. In Lure of the Tropics (Dr. John)
05. Rolling Down to Old Maui (Todd Rundgren)
06. Jack Tar on Shore (Dan Zanes w/Broken Social Scene)
07. Sally Racket (Sissy Bounce (Katey Red & Big Freedia) with Akron/Family)
08. Wild Goose (Broken Social Scene)
09. Flandyke Shore (Marianne Faithfull w/Kate & Anna McGarrigle)
10. The Chantey of Noah and his Ark (Old School Song) (Ricky Jay)
11. Whiskey Johnny (Michael Gira)
12. Sunshine Life for Me (Petra Haden w/Lenny Pickett)
13. Row the Boat Child (Jenni Muldaur)
14. General Taylor (Richard Thompson w/Jack Shit)
15. Marianne (Tim Robbins w/Matthew Sweet & Susanna Hoffs)
16. Barnacle Bill the Sailor (Kembra Phaler w/Antony/Joseph Arthur/Foetus)
17. Missus McGraw (Angelica Huston w/The Weisberg Strings)
18. The Dreadnought (Iggy Pop & Elegant Too)
19. Then Said the Captain to Me (Two Poems of the Sea) (Mary Margaret O’Hara)

Search for Hal Willner albums on Amazon

By Jose Maldonado Posted in News , , ,

Related Patti Smith Content:

Virgin Mobile Festival Announces Lineup
Jack White, Marcus Mumford, Patti Smith and More Set to Perform at Inside Llewyn Davis Benefit Concert
Iggy Pop Added to Tibet House US Benefit Concert
Patti Smith Announces She Will Perform Iconic Album Horses In-Full at Primavera Sound Festival
Tibet House Benefit Concert Announces 2013 Lineup Including Philip Glass, Patti Smith, Jim James and More
REM’s Michael Stipe Plays A Surprise Solo Show In New York
New Orleans Jazz Fest Announce 2013 Lineup Including The Black Keys, Phoenix and Patti Smith
Patti Smith Will Perform At Film Screening For “Noah” With Darren Aronofsky
Anti-Records Announce Son of Rogues Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys Set for February 2013 Release Including Contributions from Tom Waits, Keith Richards, Patti Smith and More
Rachael Yamagata Announces Fall 2012 Tour Dates
LISTEN: Patti Smith Reveals New Collaboration Track with Kronos Quartet and Clint Mansell
Patti Smith Announces New Album Banga for June 2012 Release
Iggy Pop, Joe Walsh and New Order to Perform at Tibet House Benefit Concert

Various Artists – Son of Rogues Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys
Patti Smith – Banga

Related Tom Waits Content:

Leaked Inductees for Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2011
Watch: Tom Waits Appears On Episode of The Simpsons
Listen: Stream Released of Tom Waits and Keith Richards “Shenandoah” From Sons of Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs and Chanteys
Watch: New Tom Waits Video For “Hell Broke Luce”
Watch: Tom Waits Performs “Chicago” Live on Letterman
Watch: Tom Waits: “Satisfied”
Tom Waits Announces New Album

Tom Waits – Glitter and Doom Live