Various Artists – This is 40 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

December 11th, 2012
Goto comments Leave a comment


More than Could Be Expected

In Judd Apatow’s latest movie This is 40, the spinoff of 2007’s hit, Knocked Up we see life and marriage as it moves forward into a new chapter. As grand as the ensemble in the movie is, the 17 tracks that compile the This is 40 soundtrack are a round out of legends and indie’s brightest stars. The soundtrack features tracks from Yoko Ono, Norah Jones, Graham Parker with Punch Brothers, Paul Simon, Lindsay Buckingham and The Avett Brothers, just to name a few.

Wilco is also featured on the album performing a live version of “I Got You (At The End Of The Century)” pumping up the banjo under layers of soft harmonies. Ryan Adams makes a cameo both in the film and with his inclusion of “Shine Through The Dark” on the album. Other powerful tracks on the album include Yoko Ono’s lead track “ I’m Your Angel,” a whimsical and sprightly melody, and Paul McCartney delivers a bonus track from 1980s Wings, “Venus and Mars” and “Lunch Box Odd Song.”

Both Fiona Apple and Norah Jones are highlights on the album as well, each performing a new song. Fiona Apple’s sultry voice interwoven into an upbeat song is refreshing to hear in “Dull Tool,” while Norah Jones continues to please with “Always Judging,” a sweet and serene song almost seemingly instrumental if it weren’t for tiny breaks and bursts of Jones’s innocent voice peeking throughout the song.

Apatow has a way of creating winning combinations, on screen and off. Each song and artist has been masterfully placed on an album that is so much more than could be expected.

Search for Graham Parker with Punch Brothers albums on Amazon
Watch Norah Jones concerts on Qello Concerts:

By Emily Provansal Posted in Reviews , , , , ,

Buy at Insound

Related YOKO ONO Content:

High Fidelity
Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band- Take Me to the Land of Hell

Yoko Ono / Plastic Ono Band to Perform at Orpheum Theatre
Wayne Coyne Hypes Upcoming Album from The Flaming Lips
WATCH: The Flaming Lips Join Yoko Ono and Plastic Ono Band for Performance of “Cheshire Cat Cry” on Letterman
Plastic Ono Band Set to Play in Brooklyn
The Flaming Lips Announce Details of Record Store Day Collaboration-Heavy Album The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends
Basement Jaxx Releases New Album on October 6
The Flaming Lips to Collaborate with Bon Iver and Others for New Album
Listen: Stream The Flaming Lips and Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band’s Joint EP + the Band Plans for a Gummy Frog That Can Be Licked
RZA of Wu-Tang Clan Releases Remix of “Breezeblocks” by Alt-J and Announces New Collaborative 10″ with Yoko Ono
Listen: The Flaming Lips and Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band Perform “Atlas Eats Christmas” Together
Watch: Mavis Staples, Jeff Tweedy and Sean Lennon Cover John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s “Happy Xmas (War is Over)” on the Colbert Report
Yoko Ono, Kim Gordon and Thurston Moore Announce New Collaborative Album, YOKOKIMTHURSTON
Yoko Ono to Appear at SXSW
Yoko Ono, Kim Gordon and Thurston Moore Announce New Collaborative Album YOKOKIMTHURSTON
LISTEN: Yoko Ono and the Flaming Lips Cover ‘Happy X-Mas (War is Over)’

Various Artists – This is 40 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Kon’nichiwa Watashi No Namae Wa, Chibomattodesu – Yellow Magic Orchestra, Yoko Ono, Cibo Matto, Towa Tei and Buffalo Daughter Live at the Hollywood Bowl

Related Norah Jones Content:

Danger Mouse & Daniele Luppi Present: ROME
WATCH: Puss n’ Boots Cover Johnny Cash’s “Bull Rider”
SXSW 2012 Announces Sixth Round of Showcasing Bands Including Nas, T.I., Norah Jones, Tom Morello, Kaiser Chiefs, Ben Kweller and More
Puss n Boots (Norah Jones, Sasha Dobson and Catherine Popper) Announces New Album No Fools, No Fun for July 2014 Release
Watch M.Ward Perform With Norah Jones
Norah Jones To Perform at SXSW 2012
Norah Jones New Danger Mouse Produced Album Little Broken Hearts Set for Spring Release
Norah Jones To Release Collection of Musical Collaborations
Watch New Norah Jones Video For “Miriam”
Jerry Lee Lewis to Perform at Third Man Records Store on Record Store Day
Stream Two New Songs from Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi’s ROME Featuring Jack White and Norah Jones
Willie Nelson, Wynton Marsalis, and Norah Jones Celebrate Ray Charles
iTunes Festival Announces 2012 Lineup Featuring Jack White
Former Cake Drummer Pete McNeal Sentenced To 15-To-Life In Prison For Child Molestation

Norah Jones – Little Broken Hearts
Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi – Rome
Peeping Tom – Peeping Tom
The Little Willies – For the Good Times
Outside Lands Day 2: Metallica, Grandaddy, Explosions in the Sky, Father John Misty

Related The Avett Brothers Content:

Free Press Summer Fest Announces 2012 Lineup
The Avett Brothers Announce 2013 Tour Dates
Watch: Chris Cornell and The Avett Brothers Cover Pearl Jam’s “Footsteps” on Jimmy Fallon
3rd Annual Governors Ball Announces 2013 Lineup Featuring Kanye West, Kings of Leon, Pretty Lights and More
Grace Potter & The Nocturnals Announce Grand Point North Festival 2012 Lineup
Kanrocksas Music Festival Announces Initial 2013 Lineup Including Kendrick Lamar, Tiesto, The Avett Brothers and More
The Avett Brothers Announce New Album Magpie and The Dandelion Set for October 2013 Release
Virgin FreeFest Reveals 2013 Lineup Featuring Vampire Weekend, Pretty Lights, The Avett Brothers, and More
G Love Reveals Album Details
Summer Camp Music Festival Announces Initial 2013 Lineup Including The Avett Brothers, Brainchild, Thievery Corporation and More
The Avett Brothers Announce Fall 2013 Tour Dates
Shaky Knees 2015 Lineup Announced Featuring Ryan Adams, Wilco And The Avett Brothers
Capitol Records Announces This Is 40 Soundtrack For December 2012 Release Including Songs From Fiona Apple, The Avett Brothers, Ryan Adams and More
Forecastle Announces 2013 Lineup Including The Black Keys, The Avett Brothers, The Flaming Lips and More
Bottle Rock Napa Valley 2015 Lineup Announced Featuring Imagine Dragons, The Avett Brothers And Passion Pit
Watch: Bonnaroo Announces 2012 Live Webcast Schedule
Kanrocksas Announces 2013 Lineup Including Passion Pit, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, fun. and More
Inside Llewyn Davis Live Album Announced For January 2015 Release Featuring Jack White, Elvis Costello and Conor Oberst

The Avett Brothers – Magpie and the Dandelion

Top Story
Bonnaroo 2012 Lineup Announced Featuring Radiohead, Red Hot Chili Peppers and The Beach Boys
Nominees for 55th Annual Grammy Awards 2013 Announced, Album of the Year Candidates Actually Relevant Including The Black Keys’ El Camino, Mumford & Sons’ Babel, and Jack White’s Blunderbuss

Related Paul Simon Content:

The Muppets Soundtrack to Feature Feist, Paul Simon and…Mickey Rooney?