The Coup Announce New Album Sorry to Bother You For October 2012 Release

August 30th, 2012
Goto comments Leave a comment

The Coup will release their new album Sorry To Bother You this October 30th via Anti- Records. Following up 2006’s Pick a Better Weapon, the latest from the Boots Riley-led collective boasts guest appearances from Vernon Reid, Anti-Flag, Das Racist, Killer Mike, Japanther, Jolie Holland, and Joe Henry.

Street Sweeper Social Club 3

The new release is an original sound that merges hip-hop, punk and funk with politically-fueled lyrics no doubt reflective of Riley’s involvement with the Occupy Movement.

Describing the album, Boots Riley says:

You hear a lot of early punk and eighties music in this record- but, for the most part, we didn’t realize that as we were making it. I like music that is aggressive but that you can also dance to. Some times those things are considered to be in different categories, but I try to mix them. I also wanted the album to sound rough. I think sometimes music these days is so perfect and predictable that it almost cancels itself out. Maybe if there’s some tension people will hear it better.

Peep the track listing below and for a chance to hear the opening track, “The Magic Clap” head over to the Huffington Post

THE COUP Sorry To Bother You
1. The Magic Clap – 3:12
2. Strange Arithmetic – 4:05
3. Your Parents’ Cocaine – 2:32
4. The Gods of Science – 3:06
5. My Murder, My Love – 3:32
6. You Are Not A Riot (An RSVP from David Siquieros to Andy Warhol) – 3:14
7. Land of 7 Billion Dances – 3:15
8. Violet – 4:34
9. This Year – 4:04
10. We’ve Got A Lot To Teach You, Cassius Green – 4:42
11. Long Island Iced Tea, Neat – 2:04
12. The Guillotine – 4:42
13. WAVIP – 3:06

Search for Boots Riley albums on Amazon

By Christopher Powell Posted in News ,

Related The Coup Content:

March Into Softness SXSW 2013 Day Party Announced Featuring Frightened Rabbit
Waterloo Records SXSW 2013 Day Parties Announced
The Coup Announce New Album Sorry to Bother You For October 2012 Release

SXSW 2014: Antiquiet’s Never Official Showcase Featuring John Flanagan, Nicole Atkins, Ume and Grieves