Stars Announce New Album The North For September 2012 Release

June 28th, 2012
Goto comments Leave a comment

Canadian indie band Stars is set to release their sixth full-length album, The North, on September 4th via ATO Records.

The album was recorded in Montreal and produced by Stars along with previous collaborators Graham Lessard and Marcus Paquin, the latter of whom engineered Arcade Fire’s Grammy-winning release, The Suburbs.

The North is the follow-up to Stars’ 2010 album, The Five Ghosts. Its lead single, “The Theory of Relativity,” features bandmates Torquil Campbell and Amy Milan on vocals, and was recently featured on’s blog with a proposed theory for its meaning:

“ ‘The Theory of Relativity’ finds singers Torquil Campbell and Amy Millan trading lyrics about not politics, whether bedroom or otherwise, but the gulf between past and present. Campbell sardonically yearns for 1993 and reflects on what he learned from ‘D-A-D,’ amid trenchant observations on drunks, rock DJs, and a former Ecstasy dealer turned humanitarian. Millan winsomely pleads for someone who can put her back together again.”

Listen to the lead single to develop your own theory on its meaning below, and check out the remaining track listing for The North.

The North Tracklisting:
1. The Theory of Relativity
2. Backlines
3. The North
4. Hold On When You Get Love And Let Go When You Give It
5. Through The Mines
6. Do You Want To Die Together?
7. Lights Changing Colour
8. The Loose Ends Will Make Knots
9. A Song Is A Weapon
10. Progress
11. The 400
12. Walls

By Moses Sumney Posted in News