Sharon Van Etten- Tramp

February 8th, 2012
Goto comments Leave a comment


Broke and Beautiful

To say Brooklynite Sharon Van Etten has a way with words and emotion is an understatement.  With her explosive third release Tramp, Etten raises the bar from 2010’s Epic, creating a haunting and raw musical experience.  Resplendent melodies whisper of lacerated pasts, while Etten is backed up of a super-group of the indie music scene.  The Walkman’s Matt Barrick, Beirut’s Zach Condon, The National’s Aaron Dessner, and Julianna Barwick all contribute.

Etten divides Tramp perfectly. The first half of the album opens up delicately to warm up listeners for the tempestuous second half.  On lead single is “Serpents,” Etten turns up the rock dial to draw morose details of domestic abuse with bold, powerfully direct lyrics, breaking hearts immediately upon impact.  Whether it’s the slow building and breathtaking “All I Can,” the buttery coos of “Much More Than That,” or the internalization in “Leonard,” Etten’s haunting voice invites you into a life unsure of direction, but confidently documenting every unknowing movement.

Tramp is an honorable and vulnerable album that displays life’s most broken and destructive chapters, but Etten has proven that brokenness can be a truly magnificent thing.

Search for Sharon Van Etten albums on Amazon

By Emily Provansal Posted in High Fidelity, Reviews

Related Sharon Van Etten Content:

mxdwn’s Top 40 Songs of 2012

High Fidelity
Sharon Van Etten- Tramp

Sharon Van Etten Announces Tour
Nelsonville Music Festival Announces 2013 Lineup Including Wilco, Cat Power, Gogol Bordello, and More
Sharon van Etten Releases New Track “Every Time the Sun Comes Up”
Crossing Brooklyn Ferry 2012 Lineup Announced Curated By The National
Sharon Van Etten Releases Video for “Taking Chances”
Sasquatch! Music Festival 2014 Cancels Entire Second Weekend
LISTEN: The Juan MacLean Remixes Sharon Van Etten’s “Our Love”
WATCH: Sharon Van Etten Releases New Video For “Our Love”
Sharon Van Etten Announces New Album Tramp For February 2012 Release
LISTEN: Sharon Van Etten Releases New Song “Taking Chances”
Sharon Van Etten Announced Fall 2014 Tour Dates
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds Announce Spring 2013 Tour Dates
Sharon Van Etten Announces New Album Are We There for May 2014 Release
The Music is You: A Tribute to John Denver Compilation Album Announced For February 2013 Release Featuring My Morning Jacket, Edward Sharpe, Sharon Van Etten and More
WATCH: J Mascis & Sharon Van Etten Release New Video for Song “Prsioners” via Funny or Die
LISTEN: Sharon Van Etten Releases New Track “Your Love is Killing Me”
Sharon Van Etten Adds Spring US Tour Dates, Records New Album with The National
Sharon Van Etten Announces Fall 2012 Tour Dates
WATCH: Sharon Van Etten Performs New Song “Tarifa”
WATCH: Sharon van Etten Releases New Video for “Every Time the Sun Comes Up”

Sharon Van Etten Live at Stubb’s SXSW
Various Artists – The Music Is You: A Tribute to John Denver
Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Live at the Keswick Theatre, Philadelphia
Sharon Van Etten – Are We There
Truly International – The National, Neko Case with T-Bone Burnett, Sharon Van Etten Live at the Hollywood Bowl