EXCLUSIVE PREMIERE: Archie Powell & The Exports “Metronome” + New Album Great Ideas in Action Announced For May Release

February 8th, 2012
Goto comments Leave a comment

Archie Powell & the Exports just shared tons of exciting news with us here at mxdwn about their forthcoming album, Great Ideas in Action. The album is set to be released May 1, 2012, but their brand new single, “Metronome”, just became available.  Take a listen for yourself and check out the details about their upcoming album and tour.


Archie Powell & the Exports got started out in Chicago and it didn’t take long for fans to fall victim to the undeniable charm of their songs.  Though their music is catchy and easy to drift off to, a closer listening quickly reveals that there’s a lot going on under the surface.  What defines Archie Powell & the Exports is the startling juxtaposition between their happy-go-lucky sound and Archie’s surprisingly dark lyrics, chock full of sardonic social commentary.  Expect nothing less from Great Ideas in Action.

The album was produced, engineered and mixed by Justin Perkins (formerly of Yesterday’s Kids, The Obsoletes, and Screeching Weasel) at Howl Street Studios.  The 11-track album should mark Archie’s next evolution as a champion of wordplay.  The lyricist revealed that the album’s title is an allusion to Calvin & Hobbes, though he has left it up to listeners to figure out which strip the title refers to.

Take a listen to the first track off the album, “Metronome”.

I guess the duality between a pop rock aesthetic and the darker lyrical content kind of speaks to how I carry myself socially. I’m a pretty upbeat individual if you give me a quick once-over, but there are a few pour souls out there who have clearance cards to the super classified bad parts of my brain. They exist, you just gotta dig deeper, I guess.


In support of their forthcoming album, Archie Powell & the Exports have just released a new website, and are kicking off their tour in Austin at SXSW 2012. Southwesters planning ahead can expect to hear some new tracks off the album at the LetsGetMessy showcase Thursday, March 15 at the 512 Bar on 6th.

Great Ideas in Action Tracklist:

1. Metronome
2. Crazy Pills
3. Shooting Spree
4. Bend Over Backwards
5. I Need Supervision
6. You Might Be Cruel (Or I Might Be Dumb)
7. Job Fair
8. All The Same
9. Sticky Buttons
10. Great Ideas In Action
11. Only So Much You Can Do

Search for Archie Powell & the Exports albums on Amazon

By Carey Uhl Posted in News

Related Archie Powell & the Exports Content:

EXCLUSIVE PREMIERE: Archie Powell & The Exports “Metronome” + New Album Great Ideas in Action Announced For May Release