New Album From The Mars Volta To Be Titled Noctourniquet and Will be Released March 2012

January 17th, 2012
Goto comments Leave a comment

The Mars Volta have revealed the details for their sixth studio album, entitled Noctourniquet, which is due out March 27, 2012.   The first single, “The Malkin Jewel”, has just been made available for listen.


News of Noctourniquet’s tentative release comes just after a huge announcement that At the Drive-In would be reuniting after an 11 year hiatus, during which time The Mars Volta and Sparta spawned.

Fans will be saddened to hear that guitar legend John Frusciante, who has been a key contributor to TMV’s studio work, will not be featured on this album.  Though Frusciante’s contributions will be undoubtedly missed, Omar Rodriguez-Lopez’ has never had trouble matching Frusciante’s technical skill as a guitar player and his absence will probably go unnoticed by many.

Noctourniquet has been in the works for years.  Rodriguez-Lopez completed the instrumental work shortly after their last studio release, Octahedron, came out and since then has been anxiously awaiting its completion.  Apparently he handed the album off to vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala years ago, who felt he could not keep up with Rodriguez-Lopez’ prolific tendencies.  The two got in a couple arguments about when the album would be completed and it appears that the project took much longer than Rodriguez-Lopez anticipated.

The band has just released their first track, “The Malkin Jewel”.  Take a listen, the track has a distinct new sound to it.  It appears that Bixler-Zavala is experimenting with new ways to approach the voice, utilizing lower tones than he has presented before in work by The Mars Volta.

Noctourniquet Track List:

1. The Whip Hand
2. Aegis
3. Dyslexicon
4. Empty Vessels Make the Loudest Sound
5. The Malkin Jewel
6. Lapochka
7. In Absentia
8. Imago
9. Molochwalker
10. Trinkets Pale of Moon
11. Vedamalady
12. Noctourniquet
13. Zed and Two Naughts

Search for The Mars Volta albums on Amazon

By Dan Newman Posted in News

Related The Mars Volta Content:

High Fidelity
Antemasque – Antemasque
Killer Be Killed – Killer Be Killed

Watch Videos of 3 Brand New Mars Volta Songs
LISTEN: Antemasque Releases New Track “4AM”
Cedric Bixler Zavala from At The Drive-In and Mars Volta Confirms Working On Solo Album
Members of The Mars Volta and Flea Form New Band Antemasque
Soulfly’s Frontman Max Cavalera To Form New Band with Members from Mastodon, Dillinger Escape Plan, Converge, and Mars Volta
Killer Be Killed To Release Self-Titled Debut Album May 13
Watch: New 15-Minute Video For The Mars Volta’s “The Malkin Jewel”
Cedric Bixler-Zavala of The Mars Volta Announces New Band Zavalaz
Omar Rodriguez-Lopez Says the At the Drive-In Reunion is Not Over
Giraffe Tongue Orchestra To Enter the Studio and Begin Recording
New Album From The Mars Volta To Be Titled Noctourniquet and Will be Released March 2012
WATCH: Bosnian Rainbows Premire New Video “Turtle Neck” Documenting Life On Tour
Watch: The Mars Volta Unveil Three New Songs Live in Europe
Bosnian Rainbows Announce Details of Upcoming Self-Titled Debut Album
Antemasque Releases New Track “Hangin in the Lurch”

In concert: The Mars Volta (Electric Factory, Philadelphia, Pa., October 9, 2009)
Omar Rodriguez-Lopez – A Manual Dexterity Vol. 1 Soundtrack

Top Story
The Mars Volta Calls It Quits
One Day As A Lion Announce First Ever Live Shows
At the Drive-In to Reunite For 2012 Shows + Coachella Performance