Shortlist Prize Finalists Announced

April 30th, 2007
Goto comments Leave a comment

After a year off, The Shorlist Music Prize has returned to acknowledge those quality albums of 2006 that have not sold 500,000 units or more.

With listmakers including KT Tunstall, Panic! At the Disco, Franz Ferdinand, Sufjan Stevens and members of Flaming Lips, The Killers and Snow Patrol, the 10 finalists were chosen from a nomination pool of 61. Independent lables brought 9 of the 10 finalists into the world marking the largest indie sector representation in the award’s half-dozen year history.

Without further ado, the finalists are as follows:

Joanna Newsom
Band of Horses
Tom Waits
Hot Chip
Regina Spektor
Spank Rock
Cat Power
Bonnie “Prince” Billy
Girl Talk

By Matthew Kiel Posted in News